Skip to content

Fun with (Vegan) Sushi!

11/22/2010

So, last Friday after the Christmas tree lighting in the Station (who lights a tree before Thanksgiving?), my winter roomie & I were supposed to go have sushi.  After a frustrating debacle while trying to get out of an over-packed parking lot, plans changed.

Me being me, I immediately started working out my new dinner menu in my mind.  I wanted sushi…badly.  I hadn’t had any since going vegan, which is a problem because I used to eat sushi at least once a week.

Then it hit me:

  • I had nori in the cabinet.
  • I had rice, Japanese eggplant I could roast quickly, and a few stray lobster mushrooms lying around.
  • There’s always soy sauce, sesame oil, and (surprisingly) wasabi powder at our place. 

 

I could make my own sushi!

And so my friends, I proceeded to cook up a batch of rice, toast off some sesame seeds, salt/roast the Japanese eggplant, mix up my wasabi, sauté the mushrooms & a few stir-fry veggies.  So about 45 minutes later, I was ready to roll!

That’s when the trouble started. 

I didn’t have a bamboo mat handy, but I figured I could do a decent approximation plastic wrap & parchment paper. The edges refused to hold together with water like the instructions said.  On top of that, I couldn’t seem to cut through it to save my life.  The result was that ginormous “floppy maki” in the background of my plate.  Yeah…FAIL.  :-(

The good news is that my second roll came out much better (that’s why I put it in front of course). 

In the end, the flavor was delicious, and I got to try out a batch of homemade Piri Piri sauce as well.  [in my best sports announcer voice] It’s good!  Needless to say, it’s gonna take a little practice, but I’m thinking I could get used to satisfying my own sushi cravings at home.

Have you ever rolled your own vegan sushi?  Do you even like sushi?  What are your favorite combinations?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/23/2010 2:50 pm

    Hey there – you’ve won a copy of Vegan Bodybuilding and Fitness over at the MoFo Headquarters. Please can you let me have your email address.
    YAY!
    WELL DONE!
    jeni.treehugger@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

